Peekaboo Beans Play Stylist

The best children's clothing available on the market today. We are passionate about play! Shop with me or join our amazing team of Play Stylists!

Put down your gadgets

The other day I saw something go by on Twitter asking how much time you really spend with your children. I started to think about this, and realized that I don’t spend as much time with them as I want to. And I don’t mean physically being with them, I mean being present. Being attentive. Being an active part of their moments.

I’m guilty of picking up my iphone to send a text message, check my email, or read a blog post – in front of my kids. How many times do they hear ‘just a sec’ from me in an afternoon? How often do I turn on the TV for a couple of extra minutes of ‘me time’. On one hand I feel like this technology is a part of their life and their culture, and I want them to be exposed to it. But on the other hand, what message am I really sending to them? Are they really getting my full attention? No.

Being a parent is hard, no one needs to tell you this. And after a long day, sometimes I need some time to feel connected to something other than my role as a mom. I belong to a strong online community of like minded, entrepreneurial moms, and I like to feel connected to this network. Being a part of this community lets me vent my frustrations about parenting, ask questions and seek advice, and share the many moments of joy my kids bring!

I know I need to make more of an effort to put down the iphone, turn off the TV, and plug myself into their world a little bit more. Maybe it will do me some good to get lost in their imaginations for a little while!

 

 

One response to “Put down your gadgets

  1. Karen March 29, 2011 at 10:51 pm

    I am so guilty of this. But I’m working on it. Some days are better than others but it’s getting better. I think I’m going to restrict myself from saying those three little words if all I’m doing is commenting on a blog. I had to put my phone down in the middle of this one. 😉

Leave a Reply

